christmas joys <3

Merry Christmas everybody! No fancy photoshoot today or reflective blog post about body image/body love/eating disorder recovery today as I wanted to take this time just basking in the woozy comfort of the holiday season.

Am feeling so blessed this Christmas because unlike last year, I am spending this season with loved ones instead of abroad. My mum put up the Christmas tree for the first time in maybe 3 or 4 years. I’m still surprised at how enthusiastic she is about Christmas this year because we stopped putting up the tree when my siblings and myself got older. I’m glad she’s immersed in the Christmas spirit this season because it has an influence on me.

I’m reveling in the comfort of sitting with friends and laughing at old times, planning for the future and just simply enjoying the company of each other. As we talk about the coming and goings of 2014, I’m amazed at how much I’ve grown. All the difficult experiences I’ve been put through that has molded me into the person I am right seemed like ages ago now even though it happened only this year and also even last year – the 2 most challenging years of my life thus far of which I’ll elaborate on next time. I’m better able to enjoy Christmas this year because I’ve let go of many unhappy things that have burdened my heart; out with the old (and of people not worth your time and effort who robbed you of your energy in the past) and in with the new.

When I was younger, Christmas was about getting fabulous gifts, but I think with age its about taking comfort in the company of loved ones and especially of things that money cannot buy and of things that will last a long time.

IMG_0975

IMG_0991

IMG_0983

Bobby getting his Christmas gift ❤

IMG_0996

Leave a Reply

